CRANK IT UP

“Music touches us emotionally, where words alone can’t.”
―Johnny Depp

Thanks to Hulu plus, recently I watched the original version of the movie “Footloose” directed by Herbert Ross.  Starring  a very handsome Kevin Bacon and John Lithgow. It is hard to believe it came out in 1984- 32 years ago!! It had the same toe tapping, can’t just sit on the couch and watch, affect on me that day as it did then. As I was bee bopping around the living room, I felt exhilarated!  Isn’t that just  what I need on a bad day? Something uplifting to pull me off the path that leads to dark places? Music does just that.

Music can play such a big role in how we feel. For me, if I am driving down the road and the car is quiet- it is a warning sign. It means I am holding myself back from one of my life long pleasures and it’s time to turn on the radio or slip in a CD and CRANK IT UP! It can make me feel rebellious, help me have a good cleansing cry, bring back some long forgotten memory or aid in tension release as I sing at the top of my lungs. What type of singer am I? I belong to the group that probably  shouldn’t be allowed to sing in the shower. It doesn’t matter. My musical choice of the moment is within my control and some days that is all it takes to keep me on the right path.

When I am sad there are a couple of songs I utilize to lift my spirits. One of my all time favorites is called “Broken”, sung by Lindsay Haun in the movie “Broken Bridges” which starred Toby Keith.   Broken Sung by Lindsay Haun

I was just reading a post by Best Binaural Beats.org about how music affects our moods. They discussed the experiments that continue on how our hormones and energy level can increase while listening to upbeat music. There is an overview of how soft rock, soothing tones such as wind chimes etc. can help with meditation. Read more at Best Binaural Beats.org .

I have a close friend that meditates to Native American flute music. Walking into his home when he is doing his daily ritual of sage burning for aura cleansing of his surroundings, with the flute music flowing in the background used to transport me to another place almost instantaneously. It was something I had never experienced. There was a calmness that surrounded me. The first time it started to happen, it caught me off guard and I felt very uncomfortable. I forced myself to sit and chat for a bit. The longer I stayed, the more I was able to relax and embrace the sense of peacefulness .  It proved once again, that allowing myself to be out of my comfort zone was worth the few moments of anxiety I had to endure. Sometimes, you just have to go for it!

According to “Frontiers in Psychology” the enthusiasm for music has only been around for about 250,000 years or more. They introduce the topic with this: “Music listening is one of the most enigmatic of human behaviors…”  If you would like to read more on this subject here is the link.  frontiers in psychology link

By the looks of my blog today I am on a share a link mission. There is so much information out there and it certainly is not fair for me to paraphrase or take credit for it. Music and it’s impact on our very beings, where our mind wanders, the various type of healing it can spark, is one HOT topic! My feeling, I share the link, then you can look at your leisure. Maybe today isn’t the day you want to get into the technical side, perhaps you just want to read an overview and save the down and dirty for another day or perhaps never. Just have some fun with the very thought that the choice, your choice of tunes can set the tone and help you gain back some of the control of the way you feel. Today, belongs to you and should you choose it, can be your day for experimentation.

So what is your music of choice? I have so many.  I am a Country and Western fan, a 60’s & 70’s Rock n roller with a true love of Louis Armstrong jazz that discos on thru to the Donna Summer’s- “On the Radio” era then flips the switch to Otis Redding’s- “Dock of the Bay” and right into Jim Croce’s- “I Got a Name” which can actually lead me back to Bad Company’s- “Bad Company” and on towards AC/DC’s- “You Shook Me All Night Long” and right back to Billy Curryington’s- “People are Crazy”.  How fitting is that? (insert GRIN here).

Submitted by Bri57 :   Music  is an energy which flows thru us all, as a musician for the  past 48 years;  music is a true passion, it has  been a career, for relaxation and I write songs and music to express thoughts and ideas. Some are happy, some are sad and some  just to get them cleaned out of my head. My musical tastes run from country  to  classic rock to folk to classical, all of which appeal for different  reasons. It relaxes me in the joy of listening to it and challenges me with the creation of it.  When times are  dark, music has always  been  the light to get me  moving forward …

Thank you Bri57 for your contribution to the CRANK IT UP post! I am looking forward to more contributions from you and others in the near future.

 

zen to zany music 2

 

Special Note: Today is a very exciting day. Zen to Zany a wonderful artist and very creative lady has agreed to let us utilize some of her unique artwork and posts on our blog. If you aren’t familiar with her work, look her up on Facebook and/or check out her shop on Etsy. She is beyond inspirational.

 

 

2 thoughts on “CRANK IT UP

Leave a Reply

