The Power of Me

13177889_970951823017565_2864488956625853760_n

A  very timely quote appeared in my email yesterday- “The reason that so few people are financially independent today is that they place many negative road blocks in their heads. Becoming wealthy is, in fact, a mind game.” – Thomas L. Stanley

Since I was about 10, I have had the soul of a rebel. I read this and instantly wanted to know who the heck was Thomas L Stanley and how could he substantiate such a bold statement? So, being the inquisitive researcher I am, I had to locate his background. Though, many of you may have heard of him, I must live in a bubble, because I never had. This is just a bit of what I found.

Dr. Thomas J. Stanley (1944-2015) was the author of six award winning books concentrating on America’s wealthy population. His seventh book, Stop Acting Rich, was published in September 2009 by John Wiley and Sons. He began studying the affluent in 1973. Dr. Stanley wrote The Millionaire Next Door, in 1996. Over 2,000,000 copies of this New York Times bestseller have been sold. 

Click here for Thomas L Stanley’s Blog

Okay I am impressed.  I love the quote! Definitely, kick you in the butt inspiring!!

I am sure you caught the way I noted “timely” quote. Yes, I am still C-diff free, Woo Hoo!! But, unfortunately it caused some other health issues and I have had to give up my regular job. Leaving me with the task of finding other income strategies.
Should I call it a Task? A Challenge? A chance to prove myself?

Sure, I can lay in bed and feel bad, cry, hit something, which I really truly thought about doing.  Okay, there have been a few hours here and there I have tried the above, but it didn’t do a thing for me. And, that will not pay those bills that keep showing up. So, I have set the goal of achieving #winning!!  Success, is not going to happen over night and it is definitely a roll up my sleeves and dive in, no matter what it takes, endeavor. It is not, as they say, for the weak at heart.

One thing I am getting a chance to do, is to test a lot of the Work at Home, income blogging ideas that I have read over the last few months. I am so glad that my fellow bloggers have done the majority of the leg work to clear out the fake “make big bucks per day” scams, so that I have valid offers to weed through. Thank you!

So back to the quote!  It is very easy to get down, feel doubtful of my capabilities and as I have discussed in previous blogs have the ol’ “what ifs” take over if I allow my mind to go into “spin mode.” I need to stay in the now. Celebrate each victory no matter how small,  for each dollar I make, is a win for me!

Do positive quotes help you? I know for a fact that myself and many of my friends gravitate and relate to the written word of empowerment! Often, all it takes is a few inspiring words to keep you moving forward. And on that note I shall leave you with one of my favorites. More of this story to come…

“It is not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes short again and again, who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, and spends himself in a worthy cause, who at best knows achievement and who at the worst if he fails at least fails while daring greatly so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat.” – Theodore Roosevelt

 

Daily post – Underestimate

Leave a Reply

