Memorial Day

13239331_977201919059222_7542305923086140312_n
Thank you Zen to Zany

Memorial Day is a time to honor and respect those that have given their lives for our country.

I would like to thank each and everyone of soldiers past, present and future.

For those we have lost during the war and those that fight everyday both in the war zone and at home. Thank you.

For me, it is also a time for reflection.  As the years continue and men and women  step forward it will continue to change many lives. A change that you can in no way imagine until you live through it. Warm thoughts go out to the parents, husbands, wives, siblings and children who have received the flag of a soldier that has made the ultimate sacrifice.

I have no idea what it was like to take on fire, have an IED explode under the vehicle in front of me.  I would not even pretend to think I could imagine how that feels. What I do know, as the mom of a soldier, it totally changed my life and the way I see things. Life will never be the same.

 

Each veteran I see that stands in salute in honor of his fallen comrades, my heart goes out to them, for they know and understand- war. When I see a person in uniform, I feel such great respect. Quite often my eyes still tear up. Maybe they always will.

In both middle school and high school I played the trumpet. Memorial day was always a busy time. We have so many small towns in this area. Our Regional HS and the middle school swap sets of towns each year,and do many parades so that they can be there to honor all. I have played taps and the echo of taps too many times to count.  Since 2010 those same notes touch my heart and my soul to it’s very core.

My dad served in WWII, he never  spoke much of the war, my son doesn’t either. I, myself will mention how proud I am that my son served…

I apologize if this small written note leaves you feeling or wanting something more. Or perhaps that is my intent. If and when you attend Memorial Day tributes or gatherings this weekend maybe you will look a little deeper at the faces of our veterans. If so, than I have done what I did not even know that I had set out to do when I started writing today.

It will be interesting to see any comments that come my way and the articles that this particular Holiday uncovers. Until then… Thank you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Phase

One thought on “Memorial Day

Leave a Reply

