He Believed in Me

13413620_992847440828003_4913146080128523779_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Old as she was, she still missed her daddy sometimes.” —Gloria Naylor

  WWII Veteran

        Musician

               Dad

                  Husband

                     Grandpa

                         My best friend…

 

Fond memories:

*Laughing and watching, The Honeymooners with Jackie Gleason.

*Ahh, the sweet smell of your occasional, after dinner, Tiparillo.

*Our day trips “just because” on back country roads.

*Hitting all the country diners we could, ‘cuz mom was busy and she hated them.

*Your thirteen VW beetles in a row – because you loved them.

*My giggles, when you showed up at dusk, on MY bike, to let me know it was supper time.

*That quiet demeanor, never did you raise your voice in anger.

*You were always the gentleman and reminded me I deserved nothing less.

*Without explanation nor encouragement, everyone we visited, the cat would appear and always snuggle in your lap.

*A tool grinder during the week and musician on the weekend.

*The sounds of the sweet melody of your cornet and the Wah Wah mute we shared.

*You will always be my favorite Jazz man and teacher of The Big Band Era.

*Did you hear me? In honor of you, I played taps at your grave.

*Our feet tapping to The Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy – The Andrews Sisters 

Listen to Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy 1941

*You still are the star grandpa, Reigning Croquet Champion!

 

…I miss you dad. 

 

“My father gave me the greatest gift anyone could give another person, he believed in me.” – Jim Valvano

 

“There’s something like a line of gold thread running through a man’s words when he talks to his daughter, and gradually over the years it gets to be long enough for you to pick up in your hands and weave into a cloth that feels like love itself.” -John Gregory Brown

 

“When my father didn’t have my hand…he had my back.” —Linda Poindexter

 

“They say that from the instant he lays eyes on her, a father adores his daughter. Whoever she grows up to be, she is always to him that little girl in pigtails. She makes him feel like Christmas. In exchange, he makes a secret promise not to see the awkwardness of her teenage years, the mistakes she makes or the secrets she keeps.” —Anonymous

 

For you:

“Moon River” – Andy Williams Lyrics

Moon river, wider than a mile
I’m crossing you in style some day
Oh, dream maker, you heart breaker
Wherever you’re going, I’m going your way

Two drifters, off to see the world
There’s such a lot of world to see
We’re after the same rainbow’s end, waiting, round the bend
My Huckleberry Friend, Moon River, and me

Moon river, wider than a mile
I’m crossing you in style some day
Oh, dream maker, you heart breaker
Wherever you’re going, I’m going your way

Two drifters, off to see the world
There’s such a lot of world to see
We’re after that same rainbow’s end, waiting, round the bend
My Huckleberry Friend, Moon River, and me.


Daily Post: Perfection

Leave a Reply

