Plant Your Feet, then…

self-preservation-quote

Is your life feeling out of Control?

Despite, positive things happening,

do you feel like you are heading for a fall?: 

If the answer is yes, it is probably time to practice some self preservation.

Self Preservation, is NOT being selfish!

I believe, it is taking a step back,

getting yourself to safe ground and

reviewing your life from a place without

outside influences!

Allowing you freedom to think with a clear mind.  

Finding your balance.

Asking yourself non-influenced questions. 

  1. Am I truly happy with my current circumstances?
  2. Is there something in my life that is holding me back?
  3. Have there been too many broken promises from people I should be able to trust?
  4. Am I growing in a positive way?
  5. Is there an outside influence that I am allowing to control my emotions?
  6. I feel like I am on a roller coaster ride, what steps do I need for it to stop?
  7. What has changed in my life in the last year?
  8. What do I want?

 

You, do NOT have to slam doors or tell someone to go away forever.

But, it is okay to take time for yourself. You need it, you deserve it.

I was thinking about writing about self preservation and came upon

this post from 2012 written in a blog called OneToSixteenInTen :

“Something’s gotta give!

Change is such a difficult notion for some people (and for ‘some people’ I mean ME – atleast for the purpose of this blog).

When other people or things have to change it’s easier to accept or go with the flow but when the change affects you or has to start with you…then suddenly it becomes the hardest decision or task to undertake.

There’s something major in my Life that I need to change and I can’t tell you how much I’ve analyzed and pyschoanalyzed the situation – tried to see it from both sides of the coin – tried to see whether I’m just going through a phase – tried to see if I could just leave things the way they are & hope for the best or for things to right itself.  But everything keeps coming back to the same thought!  Change is a must!

People say sometimes that for a person to want to effect the change they need, that something major must occur in their life to trigger it.  But in my case, it’s been a series of small occurrences.  Occurrences that when you put them by themselves, are minor and inconsequential but when you add them up, day after day, month after month or year after year – could turn out to be catastrophic.  And, I think (at the chances of being totally cliche) that I’ve truly reached the end of the rope!

I still wonder though whether I’m not giving the benefit of the doubt.  Whether I’m just giving up or whether it’s because I’ve just stopped caring and that’s why I’m ready to effect this change.  Am I truly asking myself the right questions?  And, are the answers to my questions skewed towards my own self-preservation simply because I want this change?” –

Reference link 2/27/2012 OneToSixteenInTen Blog Spot – Something’s gotta give!

 

 

“The most important thing is transforming our minds,

for a new way of thinking, a new outlook:

we should strive to develop

a new inner world.” ~ Dalai Lama

metamorphosis

 

Take some time to think. Get your feet planted. Then see what, who appears in your life. It may be someone new, it may be that someone will show back up again. You just never know, what might be accomplished once you are feeling refreshed. 

What are you thoughts? I would love to hear them!

 

Kind Regards – K

 

Plop

8 thoughts on “Plant Your Feet, then…

  1. Just what I needed today, dear K! I run in circles, scattering the contents of my heart until I’m empty. Love the permission to slow down and the intrinsic value that flows from taking care of ourselves. And per your last quote about change, I am starting to see that taking care means changing what I believe about myself because the old script just isn’t working. As Ella Fitzgerald sang, “Somethin’s gotta give!” Thank you for your kindness and rich insight!

    Like

Leave a Reply

