On His Own

What's for Dinner Moms?

This has been a strange two weeks for me. My son went to camp for the first time on his own. The past two years he has been to the same fine arts camp he is at now but his sister has always been on the same campus. It was always comforting to me have her there just in case something happened.

My son has Autism. He has done very well at this camp and I have always been impressed by how his cabin counselors and unit director have spoken to me ahead of time to find out exactly how to help him succeed at camp. This year was no different. We talked about giving my son two choices to help him move on if he gets stuck on something or how to let him know he needs to take a break from a situation without making him feel defensive…

View original post 289 more words

3 thoughts on “On His Own

Leave a Reply

